Difficult People

Yep!! We’ve all been around someone who challenged our character to the core. So how do you deal with them as a whole? I work in an outbound customer service center where there are a lot of very very interesting personalities that walk through the doors. At first being the newbie I was quiet, shy and reserved, eventually I began to open up and got to know everyone.

But suddenly everything seemed to be going horribly wrong. First I would get into strange disagreements with a coworkers who was older than me so I really found it hard to respect her. Then my friend who helped me to land the job ended up leaving two months after I started, so I started to feel terribly alone.

In a call center you must play music for background noise since there’s so many people on the phone. And the topic of which music to play is always up for debate and discussion. We can all never agree on what to play. We have some older women who really dislike today’s music (and so do I) and we have some younger people who absolutely adore this generations music, and then you have those, like me who could care less what really plays. So you can see where if a disagreement can go horribly wrong.

My office manager who just started usually plays the generic music through the week and so to switch it up he decides to play a little more modern music, (more like 90s-00s) and yet again we get the common complain, except she proceeds a little further beyond her usual complaints to basically turning off the music, and says “I think this kinda music I so unprofessional for an office setting.” (Which in my opinion is totally disrespectful to the OM) When the whole drama dies down, I make a comment to her about myself using the word “professional” and she completely takes it the wrongs way. She gave me a huge lecture on how disrespectful I’ve become and how now my true colors are finally coming out. Throughout this whole time I’m trying to defend my case and explain it all to her without any luck. And finally when I see that I’m getting nowhere I just apologize to her and continue working.

Later closer to the time when we’re almost about to leave, she makes another comment aimed towards me. At that moment, I start to turn around to reply, but I don’t. I start to shake and so many things start circling through my head like what I really want to say to her. That day I started to look up scriptures on what the bible says about taming your tongue and what it really means to be like Jesus.

Here are some that I really like and will always try to keep in the fore front of my mind whenever I’m in these types of situations again.

Ps- I am no theologian who has mastered the bible, just a normal person who tries to live by it. I fail tons of times, but striving is the key.

What scripture says about taming your tongue:

Proverbs 15:1 ESV A soft answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger.

Psalm 141:3 ESV Set a guard, O Lord, over my mouth; keep watch over the door of my lips!

James 3:10 ESV From the same mouth come blessing and cursing. My brothers, these things ought not to be so.

Proverbs 10:19 ESV When words are many, transgression is not lacking, but whoever restrains his lips is prudent.

Exodus 14:14 ESV The Lord will fight for you, and you have only to be silent.”

What scripture says about being like Jesus:

1 John 2:6 ESV Whoever says he abides in him ought to walk in the same way in which he walked.

1 Peter 2:21 ESV For to this you have been called, because Christ also suffered for you, leaving you an example, so that you might follow in his steps.

Ephesians 5:1-2 ESV Therefore be imitators of God, as beloved children. And walk in love, as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us, a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.

John 14:15 ESV “If you love me, you will keep my commandments.

Ephesians 4:22-24 ESV “To put off your old self, which belongs to your former manner of life and is corrupt through deceitful desires, and to be renewed in the spirit of your minds, and to put on the new self, created after the likeness of God in true righteousness and holiness.”

So my question to everyone is: How would you have dealt with this situation if you were in it? Would you have done anything differently? What are some things you do that helps you when dealing with someone who challenges your character?

Leave a Reply

